Indian States, Capitals & their Chief Ministers, Full List of Indian States, Capitals & their Chief Ministers

Full List of Indian States, Capitals & their Chief Ministers

Full List of Indian States, Capitals & their Chief Ministers

(Last Updated : 31 December 2018) After Telangana split from Andhra Pradesh to become the newest -- 29th -- State of India on 2nd June 2014 with Hyderabad as the capital of the new state and Amravathi as the capital of Andhra Pradesh

We make a refreshed and updated list of all the states, their capital cities and their chief ministers. [The list is updated as and when local government elections take place.]
India comprises 29 States and seven Union Territories. A Chief Minister is an elected head of the local government in a State for a five-year term and can serve unlimited number of terms. Union Territories, unlike States, are directly ruled by the central government. But some Union Territories in India di have a local legislature and a chief minister (such as Delhi or Chandigarh).

List of Indian states and their Capitals,Governors & Chief Ministers

List of all Indian Union Territories, Capitals & Governing Bodies:

Union territory 
(In Alphabetical Order)
Capital City
Minister/ Governor – Political party 
(If Applicable)
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort BlairAdmiral(Retd) Devendra Kumar Joshi
ChandigarhChandigarhV P Singh Badnore
Dadra and Nagar HaveliSilvassaPraful Khoda Patel 
Daman and DiuDamanPraful Khoda Patel
LakshadweepKavarattiFarooq Khan
Delhi – National Capital TerritoryDelhi
Anil Baijal
Puducherry (Pondicherry)PondicherryDr. Kiran Bedi

Important Points about National Capital Territory (NCT) of Delhi

  • National Capital Territory (NCT) of Delhi is the capital territory of India. NCT and its urban regions have been given special status of National Capital Region (NCR) under Constitution’s 69th Amendment Act of 1991.
  • NCR includes Faridabad, Gurgaon, Noida, Ghaziabad, Neharpar (Greater Faridabad), Greater Noida, Bahadurgarh, Sonepat, Panipat, Karnal, Rohtak, Bhiwani, Rewari, Baghpat, Meerut, Muzaffarnagar, Alwar, Bharatpur and other nearby towns.
  • The political administration of the NCT closely resembles that of an Indian state. It has its own legislature, high court and an executive council of ministers headed by a Chief Minister.
  • New Delhi is jointly administered by the federal government of India and the local government of Delhi, and is the capital of the NCT of Delhi.
  • Delhi is neither a State, nor a Union Territory. It used to be a full-fledged Union Territory till 1991, when the 69th amendment of the Constitution gave it a special status.
  • According to the 69th Amendment, police in under Center, and hence most of the Law and Order. The NDMC, the municipality for New Delhi, stays with the Center as well.

Looking for Competitive Exam Coaching in Chandigarh

Join IBTS INSTITUTE - #1 Institute for Himachal Pradesh Competitive Exams in Chandigarh

If student have any query regarding Government Exams and Notifications than they leave comment below comment section as soon as possible we will reply your queries.

Thanks Team
Share To:


Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours

Back To Top