List of Schedules of the Indian Constitution & tricks to learn Schedules (Download PDF)

List of Schedules of the Indian Constitution & tricks to learn Schedules (Download PDF)

List of schedules of the Indian Constitution & tricks to learn Schedules (Download PDF)

There are 12 Schedules in the Constitution of India. One of the first mentions of Schedules was made in the Government of India Act, 1935, which included 10 Schedules. Later, when the Indian Constitution was adopted in 1949, it consisted of 8 schedules. Today, with the amendments in the Indian Constitution, there are a total of 12 Schedules.

This article will provide a list of Schedules of the Indian Constitution, important for the HAS Exam from the perspective of Indian Polity (Mains GS-II).

Schedules in Indian Constitution

Schedules are lists in the Constitution that categorize and tabulate bureaucratic activity and policy of the Government.
» First Schedule (Articles 1 and 4) – This lists the states and territories of India, lists any changes to their borders, and the laws used to make that change.
» Second Schedule (Articles 59(3), 65(3), 75(6), 97, 125, 148(3), 158(3), 164(5), 186 and 221)- – This lists the salaries of officials holding public office, judges, and Comptroller and Auditor General of India.
» Third Schedule (Articles 75(4), 99, 124(6), 148(2), 164(3), 188 and 219)—Forms of Oaths – This lists the oaths of offices for elected officials and judges.
» Fourth Schedule (Articles 4(1) and 80(2)) – This details the allocation of seats in the Rajya Sabha (the upper house of Parliament) per State or Union Territory.
» Fifth Schedule (Article 244(1)) – This provides for the administration and control of Scheduled Areas and Scheduled Tribes (areas and tribes needing special protection due to disadvantageous conditions).
» Sixth Schedule (Articles 244(2) and 275(1))— Provisions made for the administration of tribal areas in Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram.
» Seventh Schedule (Article 246) —The union (central government), state, and concurrent lists of responsibilities.
» Eighth Schedule (Articles 344(1) and 351)—The official languages.
» Ninth Schedule (Article 31-B) – Validation of certain Acts and Regulations.
» Tenth Schedule (Articles 102(2) and 191(2))—"Anti-defection" provisions for Members of Parliament and Members of the State Legislatures.
» Eleventh Schedule (Article 243-G) —Panchayat Raj (rural local government),
» Twelfth Schedule (Article 243-W) — Municipalities (urban local government).


Deals With
I.        The States
II.     The Union Territories
Part A: Provisions as to the President and the Governors
Part B: Omitted
Part C: Provisions as to Speaker, Deputy Speaker, etc.
Part D: Provisions as to the Judges of SC and HC
Part E: Provisions as to Comptroller and Auditor-General of India
Forms of Oaths or Affirmations
Allocation of seats in the Council of States
Provisions as to the Administration and Control of Scheduled Areas and Scheduled Tribes (contains Parts A, B, C, and D)
Provisions as to Administration of Tribal Areas in the States of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram
The list I: Union List (97 subjects)
List II: State List (66 subjects)
List III: Concurrent List (47 issues)

List of 22 languages of India recognized by the Constitution
1. Assamese
2. Bengali
3. Gujarati
4. Hindi
5. Kannada
6. Kashmiri
7. Manipuri
8. Malayalam
9. Konkani
10. Marathi
11. Nepali
12. Oriya
13. Punjabi
14. Sanskrit
15. Sindhi
16. Tamil
17. Telugu
18. Urdu
19. Santhali
20. Bodo
21. Maithili
22. Dogri
·   Sindhi was added in 1967 by 21 Amendment
·   Konkani, Manipuri ad Nepali were added in 1992 by 71 amendment Santhali, Maithili, Bodo, and Dogri were added in 2003 by 92 amendment
Validation of Acts and Regulations, though inconsistent with Part III of the Constitution.
Provisions as to Disqualification on Ground of Defection.
Powers, Authority, and Responsibilities of Panchayat
Powers, Authority, and Responsibilities of Municipality

List of Schedules of the Indian Constitution & tricks to learn Schedules (Download PDF)

Essential Questions on Schedules of Indian Constitution for SSC CGL UPSC and Railway Exams

1. How many schedules are now in the Indian Constitution?
Answer: Twelve

2. Where the details of territories of the States and Union Territories are given in?
Answer: Schedule I

3. Which Schedule details the salaries and allowances of the President, Vice-President, Speaker of Lok Sabha, and Judges of the Supreme Court?
Answer: Schedule-II

4. Where does the Emoluments of the Judges of the Supreme Court and High Courts are given?
Answer: In Part D of Schedule II

5. How many subjects have been included in the 12th schedule of the Constitution, under the jurisdiction of municipalities?
Answer: 18 subjects

6. Which schedule details the distribution of powers between the Union and State governments?
Answer: VII schedule

7. In which schedule the Provision of administration and control of scheduled areas are given?
Answer: Schedule V

8. Which languages have been added to the 8th Schedule of the Constitution by the 92nd Constitution (Amendment) Act, 2003?
Answer: Bodo, Santhali, Maithili, Dogri

9. How many subjects have been included in the 11th Schedule of the Constitution, under the jurisdiction of the Panchayati Raj institution?
Answer: 29

Objective Questions on Schedules of Indian Constitution for Competitive Exams

1. In the Eight Schedule, which languages were added by the 92nd Constitutional Amendment Act, 2003?
(a) Bodo, Maithili, Sindhi and Santhali
(b) Nepali, Maithili, Sindhi and Santhali
(c) Bodo, Maithili, Dogri and Santhali
(d) Bodo, Konkani, Sindhi and Santhali

2. Which Schedule of the Indian Constitution prescribes the distribution of seats in Rajya Sabha?
(a) 3rd Schedule
(b) 4th Schedule
(c) 8th Schedule
(d) 12th Schedule

3. Which schedule of the Constitution contains a provision as to disqualification of MPs and MLAs on the ground of defection?
(a) 8th Schedule
(b) 9th Schedule
(c) 10th Schedule
(d) 12th Schedule

4. Currently how many Schedules are there in the Constitution of India?
(a) 8
(b) 10
(c) 12
(d) 14

5. At the time of adoption how many Schedules were there in the Indian Constitution?
(a) 6
(b) 8
(c) 10
(d) 12

6. 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution deals with?
(a) Schedule Tribes
(b) disqualification of MPs and MLAs on the ground of defection
(c) Panchayats
(d) Recognised Official Languages

7. Firms of Oath or Affirmations are contained in?
(a) 3rd Schedule
(b) 6th Schedule
(c) 10th Schedule
(d) 12th Schedule

8. By which Amendment Act, Konkani, Manipuri, and Nepali were added to the 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution?
(a) 42nd Amendment Act, 1976
(b) 44th Amendment Act, 1978
(c) 71st Amendment Act, 1992
(d) 74th Amendment Act, 1993

9. Which one of the following Schedules is not matched correctly?
(a) 3rd Schedule - forms of oaths or affirmations
(b) 4th Schedule - Provisions as to President and the Governors of the States
(c) 7th Schedule - Union, State, and Concurrent List
(d) 12th Schedule - Municipalities

Post a Comment


Top Post Ad

Below Post Ad