20 September 2018 - Daily Current Affairs

20 September 2018 - Daily Current Affairs

20 September 2018 - Daily Current Affairs

1. Lewis Hamilton wins Singapore Grand Prix 2018

  • Mercedes’ driver Lewis Hamilton has won the Singapore Grand Prix at Marina Bay Street Circuit, in Singapore.
  • He was followed by Red Bull’s Max Verstappen in the 2nd spot and Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel in 3rd place.
  • Now, with this victory, Hamilton has increased his chance to win this year’s Formula One World Championship.
Note: The 2018 Singapore Grand Prix is a Formula One Moto race held at the Marina Bay Street Circuit in Marina Bay, Singapore.

2. Hangzhou to host 2022 Asian Para Games

  • The Asian Paralympic Committee (APC) confirmed that Hangzhou (China) will host the fourth edition of Asian Para Games in 2022.
  • The confirmation came following a visit to Hangzhou by Majid Rashed (APC President) and Tarek Souei (APC CEO).
  • Hangzhou will be the third Chinese city to play host to the Asian Games after ‘Beijing’(1990) and 'Guangzhou' (in 2010).
Note: The Asian Para Games is a multi-sport event regulated by the Asian Paralympic Committee that held every four years after every Asian Games for athletes with physical disabilities.
Edition Year Host City Host Nation
1st 2010 Guangzhou   China
2nd 2014 Incheon   South Korea
3rd 2018 Jakarta   Indonesia
4th 2022 Hangzhou   China

Honors & Awards

3. Dr. Raghupati Singhania conferred with the civilian honor of Mexico

  • Dr. Raghupati Singhania has been conferred with the 'Mexican Order of the Aztec Eagle', the highest honor accorded to non-nationals by the Government of Mexico (on 128th National day of Mexico).
  • Dr. Singhania is the Chairman and MD of JK Tyre & Industries Ltd.
  • The top honor has recognized Dr. Singhania's exemplary leadership and efforts to strengthen bilateral ties between India and Mexico.

National Affairs

4. President Kovind Promulgates Ordinance banning the practice of instant triple talaq

  • According to Ministry of Law and Justice in a Gazette notification, President Ram Nath Kovind has Promulgated an Ordinance banning the practice of instant triple talaq.
  • Earlier, Union Cabinet had approved an Ordinance making instant triple talaq a punishable offense with a three-year jail term.
  • Under the Ordinance, the crime will be recognized only when the woman herself or her blood relative files a complaint against the husband.
  • The wife will be given custody of the child and will be entitled to maintenance, as decided by the magistrate.

5. PM Narendra Modi lay the foundation stone of IICC in New Delhi

  • Today, Prime Minister Narendra Modi laid the foundation stone of India International Convention and Expo Centre (IICC) at Dwarka (Sector 25) in New Delhi.
  • The Centre would be a world-class state-of-the-art Exhibition-cum-Convention Centre, with facilities like financial, hospitality and retail services.
  • The project is implemented by India International Convention and Exhibition Centre Limited and the estimated cost of the project is Rs.25,700 crores.
  • International Convention and Exhibition Centre Limited is the 100% Govt. owned company under the Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion, Ministry of Commerce and Industry.

6. Delhi airport gets top honor at ASQ Awards 2017

  • Delhi’s Indira Gandhi International Airport (IGIA) has won the title of Best Airport to handle over 40 million passengers per annum (MPPA) by the Airport Service Quality (ASQ) Awards 2017.
  • The award was given by the Airports Council International (ACI).
  • Now, Delhi airport is the seventh busiest airports in Asia and among the top 20 busiest airports in the world.

7. India signs a loan agreement with the World Bank for USD 74 Million for Uttarakhand

  • The World Bank has signed a loan agreement for IBRD Credit of USD 74 million for Uttarakhand Workforce Development Project (UKWDP).
  • The objective of the project is to improve the quality and relevance of training at priority Industrial Training Institutes (ITIs) and to increase the number of labor -market-relevant workers through short-term training in Uttarakhand.

8. Exercise Aviaindra-18 Commences at Lipetsk (Russia)

  • India and Russia joint Air Force level exercise ‘Aviaindra-18’ held in Lipetsk, Russia (17-28th Sep 2018).
  • It will be conducted in Jodhpur (India) from 10 - 22 December 2018.
  • The aim of the exercise is focused towards anti-terrorist operations in a bi-lateral scenario.
  • The contingent comprises of 30 officers from different branches and streams of IAF including four women officers of Flying, Admin and Medical Branch.
  • The first Aviaindra was conducted in 2014 and has been planned as a bi-annual exercise.
  • The exercise would further enhance the co-operation and understanding of each other’s Concept of Operations.

9. ESIC approves Atal Bimit Vyakti Kalyan Yojna for cash relief to unemployed insured persons

  • According to union labor minister Santosh Gangwar, The Employees’ State Insurance Corporation (ESIC) has approved a new scheme ‘Atal Bimit Vyakti Kalyan Yojna’ for insured persons covered under the Employees’ State Insurance Act.
  • This scheme is a relief payable in cash directly to their Bank Account in case of unemployment and while they search for new engagement.
  • Now, the eligibility for availing Super Specialty treatment for dependents of Insured Person has been relaxed to the insurable employment of one year with 156 days of contributions.
  • The ESIC also approved the proposal for increasing the funeral expenses from existing 10 thousand rupees to 15 thousand rupees being paid on the death of Insured Person.


10. Central government appoints chief executives of 10 PSBs

  •  The union government has cleared the appointment of Chief Executive Officers (CEO) and Managing Directors (MDs) at 10 Public Sector Banks (PSBs).
  • They are part of the 15 names recommended by the Bank Boards Bureau for elevation.
 List of MD & CEO at various PSBs 
S. No. MD & CEO Bank Names
1. Padmaja Chundru Indian Bank
2. Mrutyunjay Mahapatra Syndicate Bank. 
3. Pallav Mohapatra Central Bank of India
4. Packirisamy Andhra Bank
5. Karnam Sekar Dena Bank
6. SS Mallikarajuna Rao Allahabad Bank
7. AS Rajeev Bank of Maharashtra
8. Atul Kumar Goel UCO Bank
9. S Harisankar Punjab & Sind Bank
10. Ashok Kumar Pradhan United Bank of India

Post a Comment


Top Post Ad

Below Post Ad