Arjuna Awards 2017

Complete List of Arjuna Awards 2017


The Arjuna Awards are given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, government of India to recognize outstanding achievement in National sports. Instituted in 1961, the award carries a cash prize of ₹ 500,000, a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll.

Over the years the scope of the award has been expanded and a large number of sports persons who belonged to the pre-Arjuna Award era were also included in the list. Further, the number of disciplines for which the award is given was increased to include indigenous games and the physically handicapped category.

The Government has recently revised the scheme for the Arjuna Award.[3] As per the revised guidelines, to be eligible for the Award, a sportsperson should not only have had good performance consistently for the previous four years at the international level with excellence for the year for which the Award is recommended, but should also have shown qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.

From the year 2001, the award is given only in disciplines falling under the following categories:
  1. Olympic Games / Asian Games / Commonwealth Games / World Cup / World Championship Disciplines and Cricket
  2. Indigenous Games
  3. Sports for the Physically Challenged
In mid-August 2011, 19 athletes were announced as Arjuna recipients; the high number due to the inclusion of both the 2010 Commonwealth Games and 2010 Asian Games in the Arjuna qualifying year.

In 2012, 25 sports-persons were conferred with the Arjuna awards.

In the year 2017, 17 sports-persons, including para- athletes were honored with Arjuna Award by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports

Complete List of Arjuna Awards 2017

S. N.
Name of the Awardees
Ms. V.J. Surekha
Ms. Prasanthi Singh
Sub. Laishram Debendro Singh
Ms. OinamBembem Devi
Mr. S.S.P. Chawrasia
Mr. S.V. Sunil
Mr. Jasvir Singh
Mr. P. N. Prakash
Mr. A. Amalraj
Table Tennis
Mr. Saketh Myneni
Mr. SatyawartKadian
Mr. Arokia Rajiv
Ms. Khushbir Kaur
Mr. Mariyappan
Mr. Varun Singh Bhati
Mr. Cheteshwar Pujara
Ms. Harmanpreet Kaur

Important Quiz based on Arjuna Awards 2017

Q.1)  Who won the Arjuna Awards 2017 in the field of Table Tennis?
a) Prasanthi Singh
b) Manika Batra
c) Mouma Das
d) A. Amalraj
e) OinamBembem Devi

Q.2)  Mr.Mariyappan won the Arjuna Award 2017 in which of the following discipline?
a) Para-Athlete
b) Tennis
c) Kabaddi
d) Golf
e) None of the Above

Q.3)  Who won the Arjuna Awards 2017 in the field of Boxing?
a) Akhil Kumar
b) Vijendar Singh
c) Sub. Laishram Debendro Singh
d) Gaurav Bidhuri
e) None of the Above

Q.4) Mr.jasvar singh related to which of the following sports?
a) Golf
b) Tennis
c) Cricket
d) Kabaddi
e) Para-Athlete

Q.6) who got the Arjuna Awards 2017 in the field of Cricket?
a) Mr. CheteshwarPujara
b) Ms. OinamBembem Devi
c) Virat Kohli
d) Ms. Harmanpreet Kaur
e) Both A and D

Q.7) Arjuna Awards 2017 for shooting won by
a) Adhiraj Dogra
b) Mr. P. N. Prakash
c) Mr. SatyawartKadian
d) Ms. Prasanthi Singh
e) Priyanka Tiwari
Click Here to View Answer
b) Mr. P. N. Prakash

Q.8) Match the Following:
Mr. Cheteshwar Pujara A) Football
Mr. S.S.P. Chawrasia B) Basketball
Ms. OinamBembem Devi C) Boxing
Ms. Prasanthi Singh D) Golf
Sub. Laishram Debendro Singh E) Cricket

a) 1.C 2.E 3.B 4.A 5.D
b) 1.B 2.E 3.C 4.A 5.D
c) 1.A 2.E 3.C 4.B 5.D
d) 1.E 2.D 3. A 4.B 5.C
e) 1.D 2.E 3.A 4.B 5.C

Q.9) Match the Following
Mr. A. Amalraj A)Tennis
Mr. P. N. Prakash B) Wrestling
Mr. Saketh Myneni C) Table Tennis
Mr. SatyawartKadian D) Shooting
a) 1.C, 2.D, 3. A, 4.B
b) 1.A, 2.D, 3. C, 4.B
c) 1.C, 2.B, 3. A, 4.D
d) 1.D, 2.A, 3. C, 4.B
e) 1.B, 2.A, 3. C, 4.D

Q.10) Identify the incorrect statements:
A) Ms. Prasanthi Singh got the Arjuna Award in Basketball
B) 2 sportsmen got the Arjuna Award in Kabaddi
C) Mr. SakethMyneni related to Tennis
D) Ms. Khushbir Kaur relared to Cricket.
a) Only C
b) Only D
c) Only B
d) Only B and D
e) Only C and D
Share To:


Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours