Year / DateBank
1786General Bank of India (First bank established in India)
1790Bank Of Hindustan which lasted until. 1832.
1839Union Bank
02 June 1806Bank of Calcutta
15th April 1840Bank of Bombay
01st July 1843Bank of Madras
1863Bank of Upper India
1865Allahabad Bank
1881Oudh Commercial Bank
19th May 1894Punjab National Bank
1895Punjab National Bank In Lahore
1904City Union Bank
1906Bank of India
12-Mar-06Corporation Bank
15th August 1907Indian Bank
1908Bank of Baroda
01st July 1906Canara Hindu Permanent Fund (Renamed as Canara Bank in 1910)
21st December 1911Central Bank of India
1916Karur Vysya Bank
11-Nov-19Union Bank of India
26th November 1920Catholic Syrian Bank
1921Imperial Bank of India by merger of three presidency banks.
11th May 1921Tamilnad Mercantile Bank Limited
1923Andhra Bank
1924Karnataka Bank Limited
1925Syndicate Bank
1926Lakshmi Vilas Bank Limited
1927Dhanlaxmi Bank Ltd
1929South Indian Bank Limited
23rd October, 1931Vijaya Bank
1934Reserve Bank of India
16th Sept 1935Bank of Maharashtra
1937Indian Overseas Bank
1938Jammu & Kashmir Bank
26th May 1938Dena Bank
19th February 1943Oriental Bank of Commerce
1943UCO Bank
1943United Bank of India
1945Federal Bank Limited
1954Nainital Bank Limited
1955State Bank of India (Imperial Bank of India renamed as SBI)
1985Kotak Mahindra Bank
1994UTI Bank (Now Axis Bank)
Aug-94HDFC Bank
1996ICICI Bank
2003Yes Bank
2013Bhartiya Mahila Bank

Share To:


IBTS - (Institute for Banking Training & Educational Services) is in the Leading Institution for banking & SSC, IBPS, Center & State exams in Chandigarh.

Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours