History of India - Some General Facts for SSC Exams

History of India - Some General Facts for SSC Exams

In this article we are sharing some Very important General Facts about History of India -important for SSC Exams
  1. The Discovery of the Indus Valley Civilisation was made in 1922.
  2. The main centers of the Indus Valley Civilisation were Harappa. Mohanjodero. KaliBangan, Luthal etc.
  3. Punjab - Roper Haryana - Bhanavali
  4. Rajasthan - Kalibangan U.P - Alangiripur
  5. Gujarath - Lothal, Rangapur, Dolvira
  6. The Aryans come into India from Central Asia and Settled first Sapta Sindhu.
  7. The Indus Valley Civilisation was Urban - whereas the Aryan Civilisation was rural.
  8. The Vedas are four (i) Regved (ii) Yajurved (iii) Samved and (iv) Atharvaved
  9. Oldest Book REGVED
  10. Of the four Vedas. Rigged is the oldest.
  11. Jainsim and Buddism were founded during the 6th century B.C.
  12. Jainism was founded by lord Mahavir whereas Buddhism was founded by lord Buddha. 
  13. Budda was born at Lumbini.
  14. Buddhism got maximum state patronage from Ashoka.
  15. Buddha delivered his first serman at Sarnath near (Varanasi).
  16. Megasthenese was the Greek Ambassadar to the Court of Chandragupta Maurya.
  17. The Capital of the Mauryan Empire was - Pataliputra.
  18. Kanishka was the most important Kushana ruler who ruled from Purushpur.
  19. Gupta period is known as the Golden age of ancient India.
  20. Ashoka vowed never to wage a war and converted himself to Buddhism.
  21. Chinese Buddhest monk Minen TS and visited India during the regin of Harshavardhana.
  22. Sind (in India) was the first victim of Arab invasion.
  23. Md. Ghaniavi plundered Somnath temple in 1026.
  24. Mohammed Ghori defeated Prithviraj Chawhan in the second battle of Tarrant.
  25. Qutub-ud-din Aibak was the first muslim ruler of India.
  26. Razia Begum was the first woman who sat on the throne of Delhi Sultanate.
  27. The founder of the mughal empire in India was Babar.
  28. First battle of Panipat (1526) laid the foundation of Mughal rule in India.
  29. Akbar was the greatest of the conquerors administrators and empire builders amongest the mughal rulers.
  30. Din-e-ilahe was a religious sect founded by Akbar.
  31. Akbar founded fathepur sikri and constructed beautiful buildings there.
  32. Shahjehan died as a prisoner in the jail.
  33. Aurangzeb had to face a great challenge from the morathas.
  34. The English established their first factory at Surat in 1600.
  35. Portuguese were the first European traders to come to India.
  36. Indian National Congress was founded by A.O. Hume in 1885.
  37. Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose founded the Indian National Army (INA) at Singapore.
  38. Robert Clive was the real founder of British power in India.
  39. It was Robert Clive who set up double government in Bengal.
  40. Lord Wellesley followed the policy of subsidiary Alliance to make Indian rulers as Subordinate.
  41. Allies of the British power in India lord William Bentinck abolished the sati system.
  42. During the tenure of William Bentinck English was made medium of instuction in India.
  43. The last Governor General of British India was Lord Canning.
  44. Lord Dalhouise sowed the seeds of 1857 sepoymutiny.
  45. Doctrine of lapse was used against the Indian rulers by lord Dalhouise.
  46. Warren Hastings introduced the permanent settlement of land revenue in Bengal.
  47. Lord Curzon partitioned Bengal in 1905.
  48. The sepoy mutiney of 1857 started from meerut on May 10, 1857.
  49. The glorious leaders of the Revolt of 1857 were Narabsaheb, Ranilakshi Bai of Jhansi, Mughal emperor
  50. Indian National Congress was founded by A.O.Hume in 1885.
  51. Netaji Subhahs Chandra Bose founded the Indian National Army (INA) at Singapore.
  52. Jalainwala Bagh Massacre took place at Amritsar in 1919.
  53. Indian National Congress put forth the demand of complete Independence in 1929.
  54. Swadeshi movement became very popular during mass agitation against partition of Bengal (1905).
  55. Gandhiji’s Dandi March is associated with the Salt Law.
  56. ‘Quit India’ slogan was given by the Indian National Congress in 1942.
  57. Indian muslim league was founded in 1906.
  58. India achieved Independence in 1947 during the tenure of lord mountbatten.
  59. With the partition of India the British rule ended two Independent states India and Pakistan were created mountbatten became the first Governor General of free India in 1947.
  60. Assassination of Mahatma Gandhi (Jan 30, 1948) by Nathu Ram Godse. C. Rajagopalachari took over as the first Indian Governor General (1948).
  61. Indian constitution was signed and adopted on Nov.26.1949.
  62. India became Sovereign Republic (Jan.26.1950) Dr. Rajendra Prasad became the first president of India (1950).

Keep Sharing & Don't Forget to Subscribe

Post a Comment


Top Post Ad

Below Post Ad